• Password-protected pages on cfainstitute.org will be unavailable on Friday, 20 September, from 5:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m. ET.

open office blinds

How to Earn the CFA Charter

  1. Enroll in the CFA® Program and register for an exam

    There are requirements to enroll in the CFA Program. 

  2. Pass the Level I exam

    Offered in June or December

  3. Pass the Level II exam

    Offered only in June

  4. Pass the Level III exam

    Offered only in June

  5. Have four years of professional work experience in the investment decision-making process

    This work experience can be accrued before, during, or after participation in the CFA Program.

  6. Join CFA Institute as a regular member

    Candidates must become members in order to obtain their charter.

Learn about the benefits of the CFA Program

We’re using cookies, but you can turn them off in Privacy Settings. If you use the site without changing settings, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more in our Privacy Policy.